Celebrating Chinese New Year 4

Of all the ‘food celebrations’ I find Chinese New Year one of the easiest to ‘do’ dairy and gluten free. Traditional Chinese cookery is dairy free by nature. And until relatively recently gluten containing grains were scarcely found or used – as rice and rice noodles are the main staples.

The one key ingredient you do need to buy ‘free from’ is soy sauce. Due to the manufacturing process this is not a naturally gluten free product – but tamari soy is. Kikkoman make one that is relatively easy to get hold of. I get it from Ocado but I have seen it in Sainsbury’s (Free From section) along with a couple of other brands.

More…